Yes, you can create various groups of tasks on Timeline:

After creating a group you can add tasks or project as a task to it:

Once you add a task from another board via 'Link' option, that task and the one that appears on Timeline won't duplicate each other but rather they will be synced. Meaning, that any updates happening to one task will be displayed to another one. 

Did this answer your question?